Mixtapes

You made me a mixtape
of all the songs you like

that’s what you said
and I didn’t believe you
but yes, there were all of them
and you requested I listen to them all
in one sitting

I did it

It gave me shin splints
but I did it

You asked me to make you one
because that’s how it goes:
you do something for me
and I do something for you
something romantic
I don’t even tell you
that I haven’t made a mixtape in ages
It’s like I’m too tired
to tell you I don’t know what I like
anymore:

1) the sound of typewriters
2) the sound of rain
3) the sound of rain, while I’m in it
4) the sound of my curtains
5) Our Kitten Sees Ghosts, by Califone
6) the sound of you sleeping while we listen to Daft Punk
7) a conversation we once had in the days that I recorded our conversations about all that shit that happened in Pompeii
8) the sound of us walking around on the roof
9) the sound of the sun
10) the sound of the snow
11) the sound of the buses/the sound of the buses/the sound of the buses passing us by

One thought on “Mixtapes

  1. Well, that gave me chills.
    the sound of the buses passing us by seems the perfect ending to the poem. I can hear it stopping for passengers way down the street…..

Leave a Reply

