About passion, about art, about life, about excitement, about happiness

The sad fact of the matter is, _______, I will never love anything as much as I loved Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close when I read it for the first time. I will not be equally happy, in proportion or sincerity, as the first time I heard the key change in Wolf Parade’s “Modern World”. I will never be as excited as the first time I rode through a mountain and called a friend who had never left the state just to let him feel what I felt. And there will never be such solitude, such purity or peace, as at 3am, when I am holed up in a dirty garrett or basement or underneath a table with nothing but a pen or a word processor. Which is not to say, stop trying. These are just facts. Facts.

One thought on “About passion, about art, about life, about excitement, about happiness

  1. Lovely.

    Your mentioning calling the friend from the road reminded me of when I moved from Nevada to Oregon when I was 24. It was a caravan of sorts, with my ex driving the U-Haul, my mother driving her car with our three cats and all the houseplants, and me in lead with solitude to consider the poignancy of leaving my hometown. I had the local radio station with the strongest signal on the radio, and it kept getting weaker and weaker, then was interrupted by a California station sporadically, then finally succumbed to that station altogether. I think you understand when I say it was one of the most powerful episodes in my life. Thanks for joggling the memory!

Leave a Reply

