This is true in a literal kind of way.

Sometimes when I am really lonely and in need of a kind of human contact I seldom receive now that I am supposed to be a grown up, I take out an ad on Craigslist telling people that I am lonely, and asking them to tell me something about themselves that means a lot to them, that makes them happy in a private, sacred way. Strangers will write me things that are tender and full of emotion and honesty, because they know they can trust me, because they don’t know me. Sometimes when I do this, I get responses from people that I know in my real life and I’ll never mention it to them, that we had this connection. Somebody told me once that this is a sign that I need help.

Leave a Reply

