That feeling when

Tfw the person you love most in the world is at the show with his fiancee, and your friend plays a song that the two of you both love in a way that can only be described as “immense”, and you suggest, to hide your love, that you both play a game where you both listen to the song and pretend you are on a sun-drenched island somewhere, bathing in it, that incredible pure happiness, and halfway through, he reaches out and puts his arm around you and says “join me” and you are so goddamn purely happy, so incredibly okay with everything that has ever happened ever, that you close your eyes and just live in the moment for maybe the first time in your whole motherfucking life, you really do…

And then the song ends. And it is over, and everyone has to go back to the person they came there with. You are not on an island. The world has consequences, and people have realities. And it is okay. But… still.

Hold me close and hold me fast
this magic spell you cast
it is la vie en rose

when you kiss me, heaven sighs
and though I close my eyes
it is la vie en rose

when you press me to your heart
I’m in a world apart
a world where roses bloom

and when you speak, angels
sing from above
everyday words seem
to turn into love songs

give your heart and soul to me
and life will always be
la vie en rose

Leave a Reply

